The Kipling and District Historical Society was formed in the early 1970’s as part of a research project on Hungarian communities in Saskatchewan. One of the ongoing projects was the development of the Kipling Museum with focus on preserving the history of early pioneers on the community.
Visitors can tour an original heritage home. The Ovan’s family home was first built in 1903, and bricked in 1906. The 8,000 bricks cost $100.00 with the brick laying provided by Mr W Nicholson at a cost of $96.00. When the house was moved to the Museum site the exterior was restored to its original form. The original owner, Mr John Ovans was appointed postmaster at Fitzmaurice in 1895 which meant that the house served as the first post office in the area. The interior décor is intact with various furnishings retained from earlier years and displayed in their original settings.
Other buildings to tour include a schoolhouse, a blacksmith shop, a dental office, and a service station with original Esso gas pumps.
Churches played a major role in the development of the culture and diversity of the community with settlers coming from a number of countries. The old Christ Lutheran Church, built in 1905, is now situated on the Museum Grounds.
The Museum also features a building with artifacts and a pictorial display of Kipling during its early years. The Kipling history book Pioneers and Progress is also available from the Historical Society or the Town Office for $50.00.
June – Weekends by appointment
July and August – Tuesday to Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Sundays by appointment
Contact: Elaine Hamelin (306) 736-8254